Cats on the Roof – by LuRain Penny

 

 Cats come to play

now the dog’s gone away –

taken over his spot

now the old dog is not.

Under moon light lithe and slinky,

through leafy shadow densely inky –

stalking their prey above the place where I lay.

In wee hours kitties pounce and leap

agitating my fitful sleep.

 I jab jab jab cane on ceiling hard enough to send them squealing.

They’ve invaded our yard with nary a fear –

Be no cats on the roof

if our doggie was here.

 

 

 

-lp(c)09-

 

artwork by codifyer

 

2 thoughts on “Cats on the Roof – by LuRain Penny

  1. LuRain, My first and ONLY cat was named Roofer. She lived on the roof and even did her business in the gutter. I didn’t get to see her do it but I did get to clean the gutters. Cat spelled backwards is Tac….

Thanks for stopping by - let me know you've come!

